Posted by: stephaniekathan | April 7, 2010

How do I live?

Through the years I have had the opportunity to meet many, many people.  Spending 28 years in the service industry has that effect.  One thing that seemed to be consistent, is that people seem lost.  They don’t know what to do.  They are afraid.  I used to be one of those people.  Conditioned by poverty, lack, and constant self sabotage. I used to long for the things I saw others had….a nice car, a nice home, a happy family….dreams that only seemed to belong to others.

I would dream of moving out of low-income housing, getting off welfare, wearing pants smaller than a 24 waist, raising my children in a happy environment….but they were just dreams weren’t they?  NO!! They are now my reality.  I created the reality I now live…..just as you are right now.  It sounds crazy I know! But trust me on this one….what’s crazy is thinking that the life I had been living was living at all!  It was barely existing.  It was a scraping by survival that kills your spirit slowly day by day.  Until one day……I made a decision to start living.

I decided to live.  On my own terms, in  my own way, and be my own person.  Wow! Talk about scary! On my journey I found myself homeless, my car  was repo’d, my phone shut off, but still I continued.  I moved to a new town, began new.  And one of the greatest things to happen was I found The Secret (or it found me, I’m still not sure which).

I realized if this were true, I would create a magical life.  I would be a princess. I would be a princess who owned her own business! Wow, now tell me that’s not out there! ………..Cranberry and Sage of Vermont was born through this inspired thought.  (I just celebrated my first year in business).

I didn’t know how to live, so I thought of the craziest sounding thing I could think of, sure it would be another sure failure, because that seemed to be the only thing I was an expert in…failure.  But just the opposite happened!  I was so focused on my thoughts and creating this life, that day by day it became my life.  The right people, circumstances, and relationships showed up when I needed them!

Not only am I a business owner, off welfare, out of low-income housing, I am over 85 lbs. lighter too!!! All by changing the way that I think!!  I didn’t take out any loans, I didn’t win the lottery.  All I did was change the way I think.  I made a commitment to learn from the masters, and in the process have become a master of my own life.  Ask yourself how do you live…..and then begin.

One step at a time, one foot in front of the other.  As long as you do your best it will always be enough!  I’m not saying there isn’t any fear along this journey, there’s plenty of it, but it’s a different kind of fear. It is a fear I now KNOW that I can conquer, and so can YOU!!!  If I can do this just imagine what is possible for you!!!

You have everything it takes to be whatever you want to be, all you have to do is decide that you want it, and then go after it! There is nothing, or no one who is strong enough to stop you….not even your biggest fear.  What do I say now when people ask me how do I live?  I say with passion and purpose, and with an inner happiness I only dreamed existed in the past.

How do I live? I love always, I laugh often, and I enjoy every moment that I am alive.  However you are living right now, whether it is existing, surviving, or thriving, you are always creating.  You deserve everything wonderful thing this life has to offer, and you can have it! Life is waiting for you, there is no re-take on this, it’s a one time offer.  So before your time is up, decide to LIVE!

Responses

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. What a very inspiring story. I believe that the moment we decide to take control of our life back, that is the moment we live. There is no doubt that it’s not going to be easy but if we really want something, we have to change our mindset.

  3. You are a very inspiring woman Steph. I have read your whole blog, and I liked every word of it. Very motivational. Right now, I am making the choice to live my life the way I want to and not the way other people tell me that I should. I choose now to learn from the masters and create the life of my dreams. Thank you Stephanie for being such an inspiration to me, and to many other people that you have touched in your Journey.

  4. Thank you so much for all of your kind words! I am very glad that I am touching people and inspiring others through my experience, and creating some great ripples of awareness in the world! Thank you so much for letting me know that I am making a difference in your life!

    Fondly,
    Stephanie


Leave a Reply

Categories

